MTC/Sandia Contract Negotiations to Start September 5th, 2017

Our Current CBA with Sandia National Laboratories expires September 29, 2017.

The negotiating committee has been meeting regularly to plan how best to address the most vital issues that you, our members, have expressed concern about in the surveys we distributed earlier this year.  Thank you for participating and letting us know what is most important to you and your future in the upcoming contract!

Negotiations will officially begin off site on September 5th, 2017.  During negotiations, the committee will be updating this website on a password protected web page called Bargaining News after each day’s negotiations to keep our members informed.  The password will be changed periodically and the new password will be sent to the Chief Stewards, who will then distribute the password to the stewards and to our members so you can stay informed during this crucial time.

MTC By-Laws Update!

The revised bylaws were voted on, approved and submitted to the Metal Trades Department in May of 2017.  The changes have been approved and were signed by all parties on June 19, 2017.  The new By-Laws are posted on this website on the By-Laws page.  A copy has also been submitted to the Department of Labor for filing.

Thanks to all on the By-Laws Committee who worked hard on the revisions which have markedly improved our operating bylaws this year!


The Metal Trades Council Meets Every 3rd Wednesday of Each Month at 2300 Buena Vista Drive SE Suite 110, Albuquerque, NM at 5:00 p.m.

The Meeting Dates for 2017 are:
January 18, February 15, March 15,
April 19, May 17, June 21,
July 19, August 16, September 20,
October 18, November 15, December 20

MTC Officers Election Results are In!

Here are the results from the Officers Election held last night, December 21, 2016:


Charles Carroll (IAM) 


Steve Nunez (IBT) 


Deborah La Pierre (ICWUC) 

Correspondence-Recording Secretary

Belinda Christakis (LIUNA)


Robert Jones (IAM)


Margie Baca (IAM)

Sammy Maes (UA)

Matthew Puariea (SMART)

Their three-year term begins when they are sworn in at the General Meeting on January 18, 2017.

Congratulations to the new Team!

Nominations for MTC Officers were November 16, 2016


Nominees for Metal Trades Council Officers are as follows:

(Nominees are listed in the order drawn by delegate Vince Urvanejo on November 30, 2016).


Charles (Chuck) Carroll

Ceasar Maestas


Scott Sandoval

Steve Nunez

Bill Sena


Bill Sena

Deborah La Pierre

Scott Sandoval

 Recording Secretary

Belinda Christakis

Ceasar Maestas

Scott Sandoval


Robert Jones

Joshua Chavez

 Trustee (3 positions available)

Matthew Puariea

Margie Baca

Joshua Chavez

Sammy T. Maes

 The election is December 21, 2016.  Only elected delegates will be eligible to vote.

MTC Officer Nominations and Election!


Atomic Projects and Production Workers, Metal Trades Council, AFL-CIO


Nominations for the offices of President, Vice President, Secretary-Treasurer, Recording-Correspondence Secretary, three (3) Trustees and one Sergeant-at-Arms will be accepted from the floor at the Regular Metal Trades Council November meeting at the date, time, and place indicated below. The term of office will run for three years beginning January 18, 2017. Candidate elected as President will also serve as chair of the Executive Board and delegate to all conferences and will attend as such.

Date: Wednesday, November 16, 2016
Time: 5:00 p.m.
Place: SMART #49 Hall
2300 Buena Vista Dr. SE, Suite 110, Meeting Room
Albuquerque, NM   87106

Nominations may also be made in writing and must be received by Secretary-Treasurer Deborah La Pierre at the Metal Trades Council Office, 2300 Buena Vista Dr. SE, Suite 110A, Albuquerque, NM 87106 no later than 5:00 p.m. on November 16, 2016.

As provided in the Metal Trades Council By-Laws, any delegate, appointed or elected, who is in good standing in a local union affiliated with this Metal Trades Council and whose local union’s per capita is paid through the month of October 2016 is eligible to nominate candidates and run for office.

Candidates must accept nomination at the nomination meeting or, if not in attendance, submit a written acceptance to Secretary-Treasurer Deborah La Pierre by 5:00 p.m. on November 23, 2016.


The election of Atomic Projects and Production Workers, Metal Trades Council officers will be conducted at the date, time, and place indicated below:

Date: Wednesday, December 21, 2016
Time: 5:00 p.m.
Place: SMART #49 Hall
2300 Buena Vista Dr. SE, Suite 110, Meeting Room
Albuquerque, NM   87106

Only duly seated delegates to the Council, whose local union has certified in writing to the Council that he/she has been elected a delegate by secret ballot or holds an office in his/her local union to which he/she has been elected by secret ballot and is a delegate to the Council by virtue of his/her office, in accordance with the Constitution and By-Laws of his/her organization will be permitted to vote. Delegates will be asked to present driver’s license or some other form of identification at the polls. Any one delegate present may vote the entire strength of his/her local union or it may be divided into as many as six (6) parts allowing each delegate present his/her fraction of his/her local union’s allotted votes.

SNL MTC Members Eligible to Purchase up to 80 hours of Vacation!

The Metal Trades Council is very happy to inform you that all Metal Trades Council members will be eligible to purchase up to 36 additional vacation buy hours for the calendar year 2017 during open enrollment this Fall!  Total eligibility for vacation buy will be a minimum of eight hours up to a maximum of eighty hours

 This additional benefit reflects a settlement and final resolution to a grievance filed on behalf of all MTC members late last year. 

 Please take advantage of this opportunity if you feel it will benefit you and your family!